Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Key to the Pearly Gates of Heaven

I started taking up the 100 Word Weekly Challenge on Laurence Simon’s bloggy.  This week’s challenge was “Guard.”  Hope you enjoy it!

The Key to the Pearly Gates of Heaven

I cut out my heart and placed it in a stone tower surrounded by high walls.  It was safely hidden inside a locked box; camouflaged by lucid dreams and harsh realities.  Fiercely guarded by fear and shielded from the world, it could never be hurt.  Time and apathy hardened my tower walls.

When I died, I prostrated my soul in front of Saint Peter’s gates and said, “Here!  Here, I have the key!”

I proudly took out my box, coveted for over a lifetime, and withdrew my heart.  It disintegrated in my hand; rotted from within through years of neglect.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

