Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Keeping Promises

I started taking up the 100 Word Weekly Challenge on Laurence Simon’s bloggy.  This week’s challenge was “Always.”  Although I wrote two other pieces for this challenge, this one is my favorite.

Enjoy!

Keeping Promises

The tumor on my back has grown so large that it hurts to even breath, much less move a muscle.  It feeds off of my body – dissolving tissues and draining my blood until I’ve nothing left.  Its weight, as it grows and grows, crushes my bones and leaves me a crippled husk.

This is the cost of my promise.  Years ago, when the tumor was broken and helpless, I gave way to pity, which became adoration.

“I promise that I will love and cherish you forever.  I will never leave you.”

“Always?”

“Always.”

I’m a person who keeps my promises.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

