Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Verschränkung – Second Life and Flickr

I returned to Second Life after taking a two year hiatus.  Upon coming back, many of my favorite sims had closed, and most of the people on my friendslist had left.  It felt as if I had returned to the post apocalyptic ruins of a once great and ancient civilization – everywhere…shadows of former life, people, and imprints of a robust community.

Yet, like survivors of an apocalypse, we gather the pieces, rebuild, and find what’s left to live again.  Oftentimes when I visit sims, I wonder, “Is it alive?  Is it dead?  What can I do?  What can I salvage?”  In some places, Second Life is very much alive and well.  In other places, it’s a wasteland, where your appearance will be the only traffic that that sim will have for the next few weeks.  Sifting through the refuge, you find hidden treasures, held more precious now, because the population of Second Life has declined; the ones left who thrive?  They are the survivors.

And now, I’ve discovered Flickr!  Like many virtual tools and worlds, I’ve learned to approach them with a very jaded perspective – is this alive?  Is it dead?  Is there something better?  You determine very quickly whether you’ve come before, during, or after the quarum.  In Flickr’s case, I sifted through many old, discarded profiles and albums trying to answer that question: Is it alive?  Has it been abandoned for something better?  What can I do?

Suffice to say, I was quite pleased with my discovery!  Not only is Flickr alive and well, but it has become another connection for me to the amazing and talented artists in Second Life.  Here, take a look at this group:

https://www.flickr.com/groups/1275078@N23/

Check out some of the photos below, and you’ll see what I mean.

Perhaps Second Life is not dead, but… we must find the parts that are alive, and nurture them for growing.
Lycan vs Dragons

Zephyr

Scorpion

You dance like a queen In spite of all the things you never wanted

Dancing horse / Artist : Livio Korobase

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

