Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Part 1 – Roleplay in Second Life – Finding an RP community

So I posed a question to a roleplaying friend of mine in Second Life:  How does a newcomer become a part of an established roleplaying community?

It’s been so long since I had been a part of of an RP (roleplay) community, I thought it would be helpful to roleplayers (RPers) everywhere to revisit some of the questions we ask when looking for roelplay:

  1. How do you find a roleplaying community?
  2. How do you learn about it – background, rules, context, etc?
  3. How do you get ready to go to a roleplaying sim – like, as a newcomer, what do I wear, how do I act?  What do I do if I know nothing about the sim to start with?
  4. What are different ways that I can participate and become involved – like, how do I even introduce myself without being creepy?  Then, how do I even get to know people?
  5. What’s the roleplaying etiquette in the sim that I’m going into?

So in order to answer those questions, I asked if I could tag along with my friend, Au Seon Yul, while she explored the sim, “Remnants of Earth,” a post-apocalyptic, science-fictiony, futuristic Earth that’s very dark.

~~~~~~~

Let’s start with that first question:  How do you find a roleplaying community?

Ask people in Second Life:
My friend Au learned about Remnants of Earth (RoE) from another roleplaying friend.  I also have people on my friendslist who are avid roleplayers, and so we get “grandfathered” into communities through networking connections – people knowing of other people who are already established members of these communities.  Come to think of it, I have been grandfathered into every RP community I’ve participated in because of people that I’ve known!  However, this doesn’t mean that it HAS to be this way.  For many communities, they have established “portals” for newcomers to enter and feel comfortable fairly quickly!  RoE is definitely a great example of this, as I’ll explain…

Browse profiles and groups that interest you:
People’s profiles were meant to be looked at (although you will find some people who say otherwise).  However, for me, they represent a huge repository of information from which you can learn about individual people, their networks and all KINDS of things!  Many times, you’ll learn about roleplaying sims simply by looking at someone’s groups and picks that y’ve listed in their profiles.  For example, take a look at my friend Winter’s profile, his 2nd Life tab, and his Picks tab (clicking on the picture will blow it up for you)

Winter

By looking at group information on someone’s profile, you can find out about roleplaying groups that you might want to be a part of.  You can even message the moderators of these groups to ask for information if you are interested in participating.  People LOVE it when you are interested in their communities!  They will be more than happy to help you, believe me.

Look at the Second Life Wiki for Roleplaying Communities
Second Life has a destination guide which lists all the various roleplaying sims that are out there, and they include a brief description of what each sim is about.  As you will quickly discover, there are all KINDS of roleplaying sims out there, and it’s fun to just visit and see what they are about.  Although it may be intimidating at first (geesh, even I still get intimidated), learning some of the basic rules of contact and etiquette will help you easily assimilate and feel comfortable exploring quite easily and quickly.

Use the Web to find out more
Once you find a community, you can learn more about them by searching the web.  In particularly active communities, such as “Remnants of Earth,” you will find detailed information about the sim, as well as useful things, such as background, rules, people to contact, etc.  Additionally, some sims will let members post up their characters bios, giving you more of an “in” of how people roleplay and interact.  It is perfectly okay to message RPers that interest you to say, “Hey, I saw your profile on the RoE web page, and I was wondering if you could help me…”

 

Well, that’s all for now.  I’ll post more on this subject in subsequent posts, so please stay tuned!  Also, I found a very, VERY helpful guide to Second Life Roleplay here: http://secondliferoleplay.com/category/roleplay-101/ in a blog by Salvatore Otoro.

Enjoy and Happy Roleplaying, Everyone!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

