Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Tuesday’s Tutorial – Pomodoro Technique

Hi everyone!

I love making tutorials for people to learn.  This tutorial is about the Pomodoro method – an easy time management technique that can really boost your productivity – especially when you are working at home and have your own schedule.

Essentially, you break up your day into 25-minute productive chunks, called “Pomodoros,” with either a 5 to 10 minute break in break in between each one.  Aubrey and I have turned Pomodoros into a science, and we squeeze out every single productive minute that we can out of them!  Here’s what we do:

  1. Start by making a plan for your day in 25 minute Pomodoro blocks.
    • Sometimes (like you will see in my videos below), a task may take a lot more than one Pomodoro to do (sometimes mine take a LOT of Pomodoros), so estimate how long it may take you.
    • For tasks that are less than 25 minutes (like answering emails, or Twittering…), group them all into one Pomodoro.
  2. After you plan your day, get rid of ALL distractions!
    • Use a web blocker to Strict Workflow, Stayfocusd and others to keep you off the web for that period.
    • Move your cell phone to a different room.
    • Get that glass of water, use the restroom, let out the cat, etc etc….
  3. Set your timer for 25 minutes and WORK.
    • Some people like the ticking with a timer – there’s actually a science to metronome training (you may hear the clock ticking in the background of my video)
    • You may prefer to hear music, or when it’s loud and hard to concentrate, I listen to white noise.  There’s lots of things you can find on Spotify and YouTube for this.
    • Find a study buddy – We call these “sprints,” where we work for a designated block of time.  I work with some classmates and Aubrey to do a sprint.  Incidentally, if you need a study buddy, and can’t find one?  It’s why I made the second video!!!!  You can study/work with me!
  4. At the end of your work period, when the time dings, quickly reflect on what you’ve done.  Think about the next Pomodoro, then… TAKE A BREAK!
    • Break for about 5-10 minutes.  Get a drink of water, restroom, or get up and stretch.  Take a brain break!  It’s good for you!
  5. Start another Pomodoro!!!
  6. Need more info?  Go to the official Pomodoro page.  I have some helpful apps listed below, after the video.

Helpful Apps and things:

Alinof TimerPro – is the timer you see in my video.  I really like this timer!

Pomodoro Time – This app has a task list where you can mark off your Pomodoros.  After it counts down a Pomodoro, it’ll even time your breaks for you.

Strict Workflow – Is a viewer browser plug-in that blocks off your websites for 25 minutes.  Very nifty!

Happy Productivity!!!

~Yen

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Tutorial – Pomodoro Technique

  1. Morning Blue/Yen, Great post, love this idea. I sometimes do my housework like this but without the break, I just moving too the next room and in 10 minute interval usually. It stops me getting bored, then distracted:)
    I think this is a great study tip for everyone, I don’t have study but could try it in the garden:) I’m sure l would get more done. By the way Oscar looks really great on your desk. I hope you are enjoying him.
    Have a great day:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, it seems like Oscar is happy!!! I love that you saw him in the video! To me, sprints work well, because my school work can be so difficult and tedious! But, the nice thing about sprints is that it forces you to take breaks – stretch breaks! When I was young, my mom used to have me pull weeds in the garden. I’d pull and pull, and my arms felt like they would drop off by the end of the day. Somehow, don’t think I could do that… my back would give out first, if I didn’t take breaks. Tell me how it goes, Chantal! Would love to hear!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great video, Blue. Pomodoro seems an effective means in order to organize people activities in a produttive way. I’m going to suggest your blog to my daughter: she is young as you and loves tutorial. Thak you for your writing advices.
    Have a good day. Giuseppina.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Write your life – get ready for writing camp! | Virtuosity 11.11

  4. Pingback: Take your stretch breaks! | Virtuosity 11.11

Leave a Reply

