Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Writing about the Virtual

Natalya here.  It’s been awhile since I have posted on this blog, mostly because I took a well-deserved break from the virtual over the latter part of the summer.  Instead, I got to read about it in the book “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline.

Cline actually spent time in Second Life, and it is definitely evident in the book.   A Second Life user actually built one of the spaces from the book on the grid a few years ago, but sadly it is no longer there. There were many times where something in the book felt very familiar, because I had done similar things in Second Life.  Check out my review over on my “RL” blog for more info about the book and its plot.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Writing about the Virtual

  1. Jonathan on said:

    Ready Player One is one of my favourite books – one of the few books I have read more than once. I knew a lot of the references in the story because I lived through most of them (I’m from Halliday’s era).

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the movie isn’t going to be dreadful, but having seen the leaked excerpts of the script, I’m not holding out much hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

