Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Get real

Look at your to do list. What is most important that you want to accomplish?

Take what you want to accomplish, and ask yourself these questions:

  1. Why do I need to accomplish this task?
  2. What are the benefits of accomplishing this task?
  3. What are the things that will keep me from accomplishing this task?
    • For each of these things, write down how you will overcome or account for this obstacle.
  4. What will I need to give up in order to accomplish this task?
  5. Am I REALLY going to get this done?
  6. Do I want this enough to get it done?
  7. How am I going to counter negative thinking/inertia/Resistance?
  8. What am I going to do to show that I am committed to finishing this?
  9. What needs to be done in order to finish this task?

Here’s my example:

My Task: Defend my dissertation by summer, if possible

  1. I need to accomplish this task so that I can have a PhD in order to get a job in what I want to do.
  2. Independence to do the things I want to do, and to apply, and hopefully make money doing what I enjoy. Acknowledgement that I finished something that I committed several years to. Respect from others. Validation in myself that I am better now than I was years ago when I started. The ability and authority to change the world in positive ways.
  3. My list:
    • Imposter syndrome – reminding myself that I am good enough, and that learning and writing take time to do, but each day, I get better.
    • Lazyness – spazz out during those “in between” moments when I am about to hit inertia. Remember, and reflect – am I being lazy, or tired, or do I need a mental break and refresh myself?
    • Resistance and fear – remembering that fear and resistance block the path that you are destined to accomplish. I must face that fear, and conquer it. I do that by writing, one word at a time, and believing in the process.
    • Emergencies, and changes beyond my control – do one thing, even if it is a little thing, to move myself forward each and every day. Believe that I can overcome.
  4. A lot! Time, hobbies, taking up new and interesting things. I must discipline myself, and remember that getting a PhD. is my life. I must make it my life now.
  5. Yes. Failure is not an option for me.
  6. Yes. It is why I am still here in my program. Comprehensive exams hardened my resolve, and I can already see the benefit of my perseverance.
  7. Remind myself of why I am here. I have no choice in getting a PhD, because it is the only way I will be able to change the world, and make it better.
  8. I have already shown my commitment with my comprehensive exams and my proposal. How do I show I’m finishing? Every day, I will work toward this dissertation. Every. Single. Day.
  9. A plan, and my daily accomplishments, and faith in myself that I will get this dissertation finished!commitment
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Get real

  1. This is excellent advice on evaluating one’s goals, and how timely given the many New Years resolutions people make. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blue — You got this!! It’s all in your head, you just have to put it to paper! I can already imagine you throwing your cap in the air at graduation! 2017 is going to be a BIG year for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

