Virtuosity 11.11

Where words become worlds…

Week 10 – Thesis Countdown

I turned in the first draft of Chapter 3 to a classmate of mine, as well as my advisor. Chapter 3 details the methods of my study. This week, I’ve focused on writing out a strategic plan for how I will complete my dissertation as well as accomplish some of my personal goals for the year. It seems that I’ve been investing a lot of time planning, as of late, and for good reason. When I think of the entire dissertation process (the writing of eight chapters), it’s very intimidating. The more I plan and write out the details of how I intend to finish, the calmer I feel. A friend told me once, that you cannot eat an entire whale at one sitting. Instead, we must consume it slowly, one little bite at a time. It take a bit of planning to figure out where to bite next!

By Monday, my next bite will be into Chapter 4, where I talk about my research site. I’m looking forward to writing this chapter, because it details the rich history of my site, its culture, and its people. I’m using documents collected from the site, the web, as well as personal accounts to construct my story. This will be my first attempt at answering my research question: What forms of learning emerge through the practices found at the Builder’s Brewery?

This week, I begin to tell the story about the Builder’s Brewery to the world. Believe me, this is not a story that you will want to miss!

 

BB - Sim 1

Photo credits: Sen Maximus

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

